Gluten Free Foods at Trader Joe’s

I mentioned in an earlier blog how awesome Trader Joe’s is when it comes to gluten-free food.  Trader Joe’s was my first stop after finding out I have Celiac.  I kept thinking this is going to be a nightmare and I’ll be in here for hours.  I was very wrong (I was out in 45 mins. thanks to everyone’s help)!

Trader Joe’s gluten-free checklist is divided into sections of the grocery store letting you know what you can eat and what to stay away from. They also have signs/labels in front of each product saying if it is gluten-free.  If you aren’t sure about something, always ask, read the labels, and check for the gluten-free logo (usually on the back of the product under the nutrition information).

Here is the link for the Trader Joe’s “no gluten ingredients used” checklist.  Don’t worry if you forget yours at home, just ask a friendly person who works at Trader Joe’s for a list. They are more than willing to help.

I’ve been to Trader Joe’s 3 times since finding out that I have Celiac (about a month ago) and the foods below are my favorites (I actually haven’t found anything I didn’t like).

Bakery, Breads, Cookies

  1. Gluten Free Ginger Snaps
  2. Udi’s Breads/Bagels

Bars

  1. Think Thin Peanut Butter (these are my fave)
  2. Think Thin Brownie Crunch
  3. Think Thin White Chocolate Chip

Non-Dairy Beverages

  1. All Soy Beverages (I personally have to be careful with soy products because of my IC, I don’t drink this every day).
  2. Rice Milk
  3. Tejava Unsweetened Tea (this is so good you don’t even need to add sugar).

Coffee/Tea

  1. Kona Coffee (I personally have to be careful with coffee and products with caffeine in it because of my IC. I do drink coffee every day, followed by a huge glass of water).

Dairy Products

  1. Greek Yogurt plain with honey (I don’t remember the brand name but is it good). Yummy breakfast.

Dried Fruits, Nuts & Seeds

  1. Peanut Butter Cup Trax Mix (I pick out the raisins).

Refrigerated

  1. Black Bean & Roasted Corn Salsa (again, I need to be careful of tomatoes and anything with tomatoes because of the high acidity).
  2. Low Fat Parmesan Ranch Dressing (I get multiple bottles so I can carry it to restaurants (most restaurants don’t have gluten-free salad dressings)).

Grocery

  1. Gluten Free Brownie Mix (I tried making last weekend; didn’t come out great but I’ll give it one more try).
  2. Instant Rice Noodle Soup (Flavor: Roasted Garlic) (I also get the Instant Rice Noodles at Wal-Mart in Red Curry Flavor).
  3. All Salmon is good
  4. Turkey meat is really good

Spreads, Marinades, Sauces

  1. Chunky Salsa
  2. Organic Vodka Sauce (goes great with the Brown Rice Pasta)
  3. Organic Alfredo Sauce (goes great with the Brown Rice Pasta)

Grains

  1. Rice Pasta & Cheddar (its like Macaroni and Cheese)
  2. Taco Shells ( I don’t eat red meat, so ground turkey is so yummy in these Taco shells)

Snacks

  1. Organic Corn Chip Dippers (I use these to dip in my Athena’s  Roasted Red Pepper Hummus from Publix)
  2. Onion & Chive Corn Crackers (great with all mild cheeses)
  3. Gourmet White Popcorn (I take this to the movie theaters so I can have the movie experience too!)

Beer/Wine

  1. I haven’t had any issues (gluten-free or IC) with red wine
  2. Redbridge Beer (gluten-free) is really good (have to go to specialty liquor stores to get it, grocery stores don’t carry it anymore).
  3. All Ciders (naturally gluten-free) like Woodchuck (Publix sells it – love the green apple)

I hope this helps.  The more I try, the more I’ll write about my favorite gluten-free foods.

*NOTE: you are always safe if you stay on the outside (perimeter) of any grocery store (most natural foods – fruits, veggies, meats).

Leave a Reply

