Closet Makeover

I’m an extremely organized, (I know where everything is, everything has its place and always perfect, even though I’m not perfect nor is life) efficient person, but truth is I’m scatter-brained. I’m off to another project before I can clean up the last one.  It always gets done, always on time, and on budget.

I want things to be pretty and organized, but to get it that way, it first is a HUGE mess.  My husband says, how can you be “cleaning” for hours and it looks messier than before you started?  It’s the process of organizing.

So, I live in a constant state of destroying one part of my house to make another pretty and organized. Remember, organizing is a long process and takes money and with me, even if the room or space is organized, I always find a newer and better idea.

Being motivated to keep your closet organized is sometimes a struggle, especially since it is usually just you who sees what is in there, but if you wake up to clutter or disorganization, you start your day off cluttered and disorganized. So, I’ve decided that for the month of September my focus is on closets (master closet, office closet, guest room closet, linen closet, and coat closet).

Goal/Timeline: Have all 5 closets completed by the end of September.

Budget: $200 on master closet

Budget: $100 on other closets

We have always had the standard builder grade shelving (or should I say one shelf…really???) and for me that just isn’t enough. I need more closet and storage space.

My closet inspiration:

Closet+Inspirationsource

closet-1-eva-longoria
Eva Longoria’s Closet

source

Eva Longoria's Clost
Eva Longoria’s Clost

source

Kimora+Lee+Simmons
Kimora Lee Simmons’ Closet

source

carries-closet-via-hbo-site
Sex and the City – Carrie’s Closet

source

Sex and the City Movie 1 - Carrie's Closet
Sex and the City Movie 1 – Carrie’s Closet

source

Sex and the City Movie 1 - Carrie's Closet
Sex and the City Movie 1 – Carrie’s Closet

source

Sex and the City Movie 2 - Carrie's Closet
Sex and the City Movie 2 – Carrie’s Closet

source

Sex and the City Movie 2 - Carrie's Closet
Sex and the City Movie 2 – Carrie’s Closet

source

Sex and the City 2 Movie 2 - Carrie's Closet
Sex and the City 2 Movie 2 – Carrie’s Closet

source

After sitting down and deciding what I really needed in terms of storage and organization for the master closet, I came up with the following plan.

I decided that I needed:
  1. Storage for my shoes…a lot of storage for shoes ( I have 65 pairs)
  2. Storage for my clothes, jackets, belts, scarfs (all seasons)
  3. A place for purses (my Miche Bags will be stored in my office since they are a hobby)
  4. A place for my husband’s clothes, belts, shoes
  5. Linens, extra toiletries
  6. A clean, organized, everything visible and labeled space

I will definitely find stuff to put on those empty shelves. Wall D is for future shelving, mirror or maybe another shoe rack. Check back during the month for closet makeover updates.

Note: Re-purposing always saves you money.

Remember planning makes perfect!

Leave a Reply

