International Travel

I’ve had a few readers ask how I get organized to travel internationally.  What a great question, considering I’m starting to prepare for my London trip.

london_big_bensource

I always make sure I’ve got a copy (the checklists are always in my household binder and I pack a second copy in each suitcase to make sure everything returns home) of my international checklist, family travel checklist, her travel checklist, and his travel checklist to start.

Deciding what to pack takes me several hours, even with my checklists and research about the weather, because “I just can’t decide what to wear.” So, here is my getting organized to travel process…

If I’m traveling internationally for more than a week, especially in cold weather, I bring a necessities carry-on bag, carry-on suitcase and check in a huge suitcase. I like to make sure I have everything I’ll need while traveling, so packing lightly doesn’t happen.

My carry-on bags (you can have 2) is ALWAYS the Miche Prima Bag.  Get yours at theplannersbag.com.  The following things are always in it:

Carry-on bag #1 (this is the bag that will go under the seat)

  • Wallet
  • Passport and ticket
  • iPhone
  • Laptop, charger and extra fully charged battery
  • iPad (I can access books, music and games to keep me entertained)
  • Headphones
  • Book/magazines/work related paperwork
  • Notepad & pens
  • Gum/Mints
  • Digital Camera
  • Neck pillow and blanket
  • Eyeglasses and sunglasses

I have 2 smaller “train cosmetic cases” that are always filled with the following:

Train Case #1 – goes in carry-on bag #1 (all liquids in the carry-on must be 3oz. or less).

  • Eye mask
  • Ear plugs (have several sets)
  • Lint roller
  • Hair bands
  • Advil/Tylenol/prescriptions
  • Tampons
  • Wrinkle Releaser spray
  • Makeup remover towelette (2)
  • Crest white-strips (2)
  • Travel (small) toothbrush and toothpaste
  • Deodorant
  • Zip lock baggies (3)
  • Tissue
  • If you must bring valuables, always keep them on you (don’t pack in a checked bag).
  • Travel slippers/shoes
  • Socks
  • Mini first aid kit

Train Cast #2 – goes in carry on bag #2 (all liquids in the carry-on must be 3oz or less).

  • Zip lock baggies (3)
  • Shampoo (I prefer my shampoo, so I bought a plastic travel bottle and labeled it)
  • Conditioner (I prefer my conditioner, so I bought a plastic travel bottle and labeled it)
  • Soap with travel soap container
  • Body wash (I prefer my body wash, so I bought a plastic travel bottle and labeled it) and scrubbie
  • Toothbrush, travel toothbrush holder, toothpaste, mouthwash
  • Hair Gel
  • Shaving cream
  • Razor (should go in your checked bag)
  • Deodorant
  • Sewing kit (should go in your checked bag)

Click here for the TSA 3-1-1 for carry-on information.

Some things are packed twice, but I rather be save than sorry.

NOTE:  don’t forget to leave a copy of your credit cards (both sides), passport with pictures and pages,  and any travel documents with family/friend or in a safe place where family/friend can access if you need them too.

Carry on bag #2 (in overhead compartment) with luggage tag.

This carry-on will include two days worth of clothing and personal supplies, since I’m traveling with checked baggage. Luggage goes missing more often than you think and it’s stressful to have no clothing or toiletries available. By carrying extras, you have clean clothing for when the worst happens.

Suitcase

How to pack:

  • Keep your wardrobe simple, casual and versatile.  Bring a couple dresses and pair of black paints.
  • Lay everything out on your bed, including accessories and shoes (put the shoes on the floor).
  • Once you have decided what outfits to bring, fold and stack them in your suitcase.  Some people say roll each item to avoid wrinkles, but I prefer stacking.  I also put a dryer sheet in to keep cloths smelling fresh.
  • Utilize all pockets in your suitcase.

Hope this answers your question and I hope you enjoy your next international trip.

Remember, planning makes perfect!

One thought on “International Travel

  1. Wow! It’s like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, just like you wrote the book on it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, besides that, this is wonderful blog. A outstanding read. I will definitely return again.

Leave a Reply

