How To Organize Your Home

Everyone always tells me, “I thought I was organized, but after meeting you and reading your blog, I realized I’m not as organized as I thought I was. I need your help.”

Here are a few tips that I use to get organized:

Step 1: Analyze the room/space.  What do you want it to look like?  What is the purpose of the room?  Who will use the room?

Step 2: Survey each item.  Put in the following 3 piles – 1) keep, 2) toss, 3) donate. Organizing your home is a big project, so take one space at a time.

Step 3: Set a deadline to complete each room/space you are working on.

Step 4: Make the room your reality.

Step 5: Keeping Everything Organized. Now that you have only your keep items, you are ready to begin putting everything back in its place.

  • Keep items accessible; store nearest the point of where you’ll use the item(s).
  • Store like items together.
  • Stores items according to frequency. Less frequently used items store at the top of shelves, closets, or storage ottoman.

Of course I am always here to answer any of your organizing and planning questions. In fact, in a few months, I’ll be offering organizing and planning services. Check back soon!

Remember, planning makes perfect!

Leave a Reply

