Holiday Decor – Christmas {part 3}

Congrats to reader, M.C.! You were the first person to e-mail me and won my challenge of guessing what symbol inspired my Christmas decor this year.

Well, as M.C. guessed, it is the fleur-de-lis that inspired my Christmas decor.

I decided to do a fleur-de-lis, peacock, Old Hollywood themed Christmas tree and decor (I have a few traditional decorations as well).

Last Friday, I wrote saying how excited I was to put the Christmas tree up over the weekend.  Well, on Sunday night around 8pm, we pulled all the Christmas decorations and ornaments out.  By 8:30pm, the Christmas tree was put together (we have an artificial 9′ tree), at 8:32pm, we plugged in the lights and NOTHING.  All the lights were burned out.  WHAT???? No!!!!  We looked through everything. No white lights in our Christmas stash.  What to do??????? By 8:50pm, I was in the car, on my way to Wal-Mart. Wal-Mart SOLD OUT of white lights. What to do????? Target.  SOLD OUT too.  WHAT???  It was like I was on that show Punked. I was so annoyed.  My options…LED lights (only 60 lights) for $15 per box or green lights (100 lights) for $5 per box. What do you think I did on such short notice?  I got 5 boxes of green lights. I decided on the less expensive green lights; it goes with my theme.  I rushed home. By now, it was 9:45pm. My hubby put on the lights for me and I started decorating (I’m so glad I started shopping for decorations earlier in the week).

So, here is it.  My fleur-de-lis, peacock, Old Hollywood inspired tree and decor.

IMG_0865

IMG_0866IMG_0867IMG_0868

Where I got it and how much did I pay?

  • Christmas Tree – we bought the tree 5 years ago at Home Depot
  • Black and Gold Fleur-de-lis ornaments – 3 boxes of 6 at Hobby Lobby for $3.00 per box
  • Black sparkled ornaments – 3 boxes of 6 at Hobby Lobby for $2.00 per box
  • Gold Sparkle and Solid Red ornaments – bought 3 years ago at Home Depot
  • Lime green, purple and blue ornaments – box of 50 ornaments at Target for $15.00
  • Lime green circle ornaments – 5 at $2.00 each at Target
  • Lime green twigs – 4 at $2.00 each at Hobby Lobby
  • Crystals – 9 at $1.23 each at Target
  • Peacock Feathers – 12 at $1.50 each at Hobby Lobby
  • Green Lights – 5 boxes at $5.00 each at Target

What do you think so far?  Are you ready for more Christmas decor?

My mantel. Yes, there are 4 stockings - one for my hubby, me, and of course our spoiled cats.  I found red, black, gold, and teal beads, twisted them together and draped over the mantel and stockings.
My mantel. Yes, there are 4 stockings – one for my hubby, me, and of course our spoiled cats. I found red, black, gold, and teal beads, twisted them together and draped over the mantel and stockings.
Don't you just love my fleur-de-lis stocking holders and the charger on my fireplace mantel? I'm obsessed with the fleur-de-lis.  I found the fleur-de-lis stocking holders at Hobby Lobby for $7.50 each. I gave the nutcracker to my hubby when we first met.
Don’t you just love my fleur-de-lis stocking holders and the charger on my fireplace mantel? I’m obsessed with the fleur-de-lis. I found the fleur-de-lis stocking holders at Hobby Lobby for $7.50 each. I gave the nutcracker to my hubby when we first met.

 

I found this candle months ago, so glad I got it, because it goes great with my house color scheme and of course the Christmas decor.
I found this candle months ago, so glad I got it, because it goes great with my house color scheme and of course the Christmas decor.
IMG_0873
I’m not 100% on the sofa table decor, still working on it. I’m thinking about putting fake snow and a few berries in the candle display.

Well, that does it. Check back this week for DIY decor and a Christmas table scape.

 

Remember, planning makes perfect!

Leave a Reply

